Kerry's Korner


20/20 tonight…
April 13, 2007, 11:02 PM
Filed under: news, pastors, thoughts

A story on 20/20 this evening focused on “pastor predators”. I watched it with dueling thoughts in my head…
1) My dh is a pastor – stories like this in any field tend to reflect on everyone with the same title. How do you deal effectively with the reality that predators are out there and we need to be watchful, but not label whole groups of people? I really dislike how they manage to make it sound like there are pastors everywhere who are waiting for the opportunity to prey on children. Now, I say this as a mother, too. The fact that there might be ONE minister who would do this is horrible, I am not diminishing the importance or tragedy, but to make it sound like it is of epidemic proportions???

2) I have children – stories like this make me want to pull them out of every thing they are part of and keep them in sight all the time. Not really feasible, but some days I really think isolation might have advantages (right up to the part where I go crazy)…

3) Why are there still organizations – churches – who will hire people without doing background checks? That won’t always provide the info needed, but it sure would help! When you hire a pastor you are hiring someone who will be an intimate part of your life. That is a big deal. You want to trust them – if you can’t trust your pastor, who can you trust? It is a scary thing. My husband has had background checks run at each church prior to being hired. It is SMART… My husband often says (not in this context, but it fits) “when you come in the church there’s a place to check your coats, but not a place to check your brain.” We are supposed to be wise – remember??? “Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves” (Matt. 10:16) We just don’t expect the wolves to come to us…

News scares me… I try to avoid it, but then I feel stupid for not knowing what is going on. I like being informed, but I very much dislike the weight of all the bad. Have you ever seen the attempts to publish only good news? It is so pathetic – like the only thing worth knowing has to be bad!! Check this out – here is a “good news” site: http://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/

Comments Off on 20/20 tonight…





Comments are closed.



